Photo by Tarri Hiemenz
Preston Mayfield tries to get a reversal during Saturday’s super sectional tournament in Cass Lake. Mayfield took second place in the tournament and has advanced to the state individual quarterfinals set for Saturday at St. Michael-Albertville.

Eleven Hornets advance to super sections

Jake Nagel and Preston Mayfield will represent Frazee at the state wrestling quarter finals on Saturday. The tournament will be held at St. Michael-Albertville High School.

Nagel, who is a sophomore, advanced to state with a tech fall over Callen Whitney of WHAN in the opening round of the super section. He then defeated Christian Pater of BCLC in a close 9-7 decision, before falling to Ethan Hendrickson of UNC by a 6-1 decision in the championship. He will advance to the state individual final eight tournament at 126 lbs. and enters the tournament with a record of 21-4. 

Mayfield, a freshman, advanced to the state wrestling tournament by picking up a pair of pins in the opening two rounds of the super section. In the finals, he dropped an 11-6 decision to Ethan Warren of Ogilvie to finish as the runner up at 152 lbs. Mayfield currently has a record of 15-7.

Photo by Tarri Hiemenz
Jake Nagel picks up some near fall points during Saturday’s super sectional meet in Cass Lake. Nagel placed second at the meet and has advanced to the state tournament.

Howard Solem came up just short in his bid to advance to state as the senior won his opening round match against Austin Wensmann of Royalton-Upsala by a 2-1 decision, before falling to the eventual champion in Ethan Holl of Crookston by fall in the semi-finals. Solem worked his way through the elimination bracket and went on to defeat Wensmann for a second time by a 3-0 decision in the third place match.

Solem had a second chance at state when he took on Torrey Carlson of UNC in the true second match. Carlson was able to come away with a 5-0 decision over Solem to win true second and the second spot at the state final eight at 195 lbs.

Also placing in the top four for the Hornets was Kaden Hiemenz at 138 lbs. Hiemenz won his opening round match over Jordan Howard of BCLC by pin at the 1:10 mark. He then dropped a close 2-1 decision over Sawyer Simmons of Royalton-Upsala to send him into the elimination bracket. Hiemenz won a 5-0 decision over Braxton Volker of Crookston to advance to the third place match. Unfortunately, Hiemenz dropped his second 2-1 decision of the super section tournament, this time to Keegan Senger of FOBA, to end his super section tournament in fourth place.

A total of 11 wrestlers advanced to the super section tournament on Saturday between the top four wrestlers in Section 7A and Section 8A.

Wrestlers who advanced to the super sectional, but did not place, include: Cade Nagel, Bailey Peichel, Tyler Moe, Brock Barlund, Max Rue, Daniel Graham and Byron Kropuenske.

Nagel and Mayfield will now advance to the state wrestling quarter finals set for Saturday afternoon at St. Michael-Albertville High School. 

Nagel (21-4 on the season) will take on third ranked Ethan Hendrickson of United North Central (31-0 on the season). The winner will take on either second ranked Ayden Homer of Tracy-Milroy-Balaton (35-2 on the season) or 10th ranked Austin Kiecker of BOLD (16-2 on the season). The two losers of the opening round will fall into the elimination bracket. 

Mayfield (15-7 on the season) will take on top ranked and undefeated Payton Handevidt of Jackson County Central (34-0 on the season) in the opening round of the 152 lbs. tournament. The winner will take on either fourth ranked Rece Voigt of GMLOS (35-1 on the season) or Ethan Warren of Ogilvie (26-6 on the season). 

The two losers will fall into the elimination bracket. 

Section 8A tournament

106- Cade Nagel (FRAZEE) fall over Trevor Neisen (MAWA) 5:26, Robby Sherk (PRA) fall over Nagel 3:54, Nagel (FRAZEE) fall over Noa Halberg (FOBA) 4:16

113- Nolan Dans (CROOK) fall over Sebastian Sonnenberg (FRAZEE) 2:40, Sonnenberg fall over Julian Ystenes (FEBE) 1:01, Wrigley Clark (PRA) fall over Sonnenberg (FRAZEE) 1:02

120- Bailey Peichel (FRAZEE) fall over Jakob Rudie (FOBA) 1:10, Jaxon Janousek (BGM) dec. Peichel (FRAZEE) 4-2 SV1, Peichel (FRAZEE) fall over Eli Burton (PRA) 5:37

126- Christian Carlson (FRAZEE) fall over Jarrett Galzki (PRA) 1:29, Hunter Skaro (UNC) maj dec. Carlson (FRAZEE) 8-0, Bode DeZelar (BGM) fall over Carlson (FRAZEE) 2:31

132- Jake Nagel (FRAZEE) dec. Tony Olson (BGM) 2-0

138- Kaden Hiemenz fall over Matt Dahring (PRA) :55, Hiemenz (FRAZEE) dec. Braxton Volker (CROOK) 5-0

145- Tyler Moe (FRAZEE) fall over Spencer Ness (CROOK) 3:45, Garrett Undeberg (BGM) dec. Moe (FRAZEE) 4-2 SV1, Moe (FRAZEE) fall over Joseph Slette MAWA :37

152- Preston Mayfield (FRAZEE) fall over Zachery Paurus (PRA), Mayfield (FRAZEE) fall over Levi Qualley (FEBE) 1:27

160- Brock Barlund (FRAZEE) dec. Hunter Knutson (CROOK) 6-1

170- Logan Torma (UNC) dec. Max Rue (FRAZEE) 9-8

182- Daniel Graham (FRAZEE) maj dec. Shawn Hendrickson (UNC) 10-2, Caleb Vacura (BGM) fall over Graham (FRAZEE) 3:35, Graham (FRAZEE) fall over Nikowa Fortier (MAWA) 3:17

195- Paul DeHate (RLCC) dec. Howard Solem (FRAZEE) 11-9, Solem (FRAZEE) fall over Blake Geray (MAWA), Solem (FRAZEE) maj dec. Nathan Waage (BGM) 12-3

220- Byron Kropuenske (FRAZEE) fall over Micah Herbel (FEBE) 3:15

Section 7A-8A super section

106- Donovan Schmid (BCLC) fall over Cade Nagel (FRAZEE) :48, Lane Olson (ROUP) maj dec. Nagel (FRAZEE) 15-4

120- William Pilarski (HOLD) dec. Bailey Peichel (FRAZEE) 6-2, Cameron Durant (CRIR) fall over Peichel (FRAZEE) 1:07

126- 2nd place- Jake Nagel (FRAZEE) tech fall Callen Whitney (WHAN) 5:27, Nagel (FRAZEE) dec. Christian Pater (BCLC) 9-7, Ethan Hendrickson (UNC) dec. Nagel (FRAZEE) 6-1

138- 4th place- Kaden Hiemenz (FRAZEE) fall over Jordan Howard (BCLC) 1:10, Sawyer Simmons (ROUP) dec. Hiemenz (FRAZEE) 2-1, Hiemenz (FRAZEE) dec. Braxton Volker (CROOK) 5-0, Keegan Senger (FOBA) dec. Hiemenz (FRAZEE) 2-1

145- Jacob Leibold (ROUP) NC over Tyler Moe (FRAZEE), Rhett Hudoba (OGIL) NC over Tyler Moe (FRAZEE)

152- 2nd place- Preston Mayfield (FRAZEE) fall over Eli Psyck (ROUP) 4:54, Mayfield (FRAZEE) fall over Jack Grell (AIT) 3:37, Ethan Warren (OGIL) dec. Mayfield (FRAZEE) 11-6

160- Jacob Williams (AIT) dec. Brock Barlund (FRAZEE) 9-5, Dakota Meech (UNC) fall over Barlund (FRAZEE) 4:54

170- Max Rue (FRAZEE) NC over Austin Mundt (DERI), Carter Sorenson (AIT) tech fall Rue (FRAZEE) 3:49, Logan Toma (UNC) fall over Rue (FRAZEE) 4:57

182- Michael Fitzpatrick (BRIR) dec. Daniel Graham (FRAZEE) 6-3, Aidan Olson (ROUP) dec. Graham (FRAZEE) 2-0

195- 3rd place- Howard Solem (FRAZEE) dec. Austin Wensmann (ROUP) 2-1, Ethan Boll (CROOK) fall over Solem (FRAZEE) :28, Solem fall over Tyler Stuhaug (FEBE) 3:16, Solem (FRAZEE) dec. Wensmann 3-0, Torrey Carlson (UNC) dec. Solem (FRAZEE) 5-0

220- Byron Kropuenske (FRAZEE) dec. Nathan Stifter (AIT) 15-8, Jojo Thompson (DERI) fall over Kropuenske (FRAZEE) :39, Gabe Urbanski (HOLD) dec. Kropuenske (FRAZEE) 3-1