Contributed photos
The 2021-2022 4-H Club Key Leaders and Club Youth Presidents. Members who graduated out of the 4-H program in the past year were recognized. Graduation is based on grade and number of years involved. The graduates are: Reid Eckert (Wild Things)- 11 yrs.; Reese Hazelton (Cloverdale)- 12 yrs.; Maren Hoban (Franklin)- 9 yrs.; Faith Jepson (Wolf Lake Woodchucks)- 8 yrs.; Victoria Johnson (Independent)- 10 yrs.; Annelise Lage (Wild Things)- 14 yrs.; Zeb Lewis (River Valley)- 14 yrs.; Jaycie Mikkelsen (Franklin)- 14 yrs.; Grace Schauer (Franklin)- 14 yrs.; Thad Schlauderaff (Happy Hillside)- 13 yrs.; Claire Splonskowski (Busy Bees)- 11 yrs.; Jenna Tollefson (Independent)- 14 yrs.; Mary Ullmer (Busy Bees)- 14 yrs. Below: The 2022-2023 Becker County 4-H Council Officers include: Isabelle Lindquist, Elias Okeson, Laura Schauer, Beth Schauer, Karla Lindquist, Kim Christensen and Katie Okeson.

Becker County 4-H recently  held their annual achievement awards program. The county is proud to recognize accomplishments made by the youth and adult volunteers in the 4-H program throughout the last year. 

Top Years of Service Awards presented to Teresa Ullmer, Brant Bigger and Angel Pihlaja.

Each year, 4-H members are asked to complete records of their projects, highlighting goals set and accomplished, ideas for next year, as well as income and expense reports. The Basic Division is for youth in grades 3rd-5th grades, the Experienced Division is 6th grade plus, as well as records for Cloverbuds members in Kindergarten-second grade. Youth who exhibited exceptional work in the completion of their records were recognized as Outstanding Record Award winners. 

Youth Leadership award winner Katelyn Kleven.

Many adults are involved in the continuing success of the Becker County 4-H program as volunteers. 

These volunteers were honored for the time and dedication they have provided with special “Years of Service” Awards and pins for 5 years (Silver Clover) Molly Bestge, Sarah Mikkelsen, Angel Pihlaja, Sarah Wendt; 10 years (Gold Clover) Brant Bigger, Jamaica Schlauderaff; 15 years (Pearl Clover) Teresa Ullmer; 40 years (Diamond Clover) Ann Zick.

There are currently nine 4-H Clubs in Becker County; each club is led by an adult volunteer. These volunteers put in extra time and effort to make a difference in the lives of youth.

Becker County youth who qualified for State 4-H events and attended the Minnesota State Fair were: 18 with general projects, 27 with livestock, 7 at the State Horse Show, 4 at the State Dog Show, and 4 at the State Shoot. 

The Farm Bureau $250 Scholarship awarded to Trent Bjerke (Franklin) to further their education after high school.

4-H clubs that welcome 5 or more new members for the current 4-H year are recognized. This year those clubs were Cloverdale, and Height of Land 69er’s. 

A Key Award is given to top 4-Her’s that are at least 16 years old, have completed 5 or more years in 4-H, and at least 3 years as a junior leaders involved in citizenship, leadership, and 4-H promotion. This year’s recipient was Zeb Lewis (River Valley). 

Herdsmanship awards were presented to clubs who promoted proper livestock handling and housing abilities. The winners are: Beef (Frazee FFA); Dairy (Height of Land 69’ers); Goats (Wild Things); Poultry (Burlington Cubs); Rabbit (Burlington Cubs); Sheep (Wild Things); and Swine (Wolf Lake Woodchucks). 

The “Friend of 4-H” Award is given every year to a person or business that provides generous support and assistance to the 4-H program, going above and beyond for Becker County 4-H. This years “Friend of 4-H” Award was given to Richard and Daneen Bellefeuille for their continued support of the program and time given managing the 4-H Food Stand at the Becker County Fair.

The program concluded with the introduction of the new Becker County 4-H Council officers that will lead the county through the 2022-2023 program year. President, Beth Schauer (Franklin); Vice President, Laura Schauer (Franklin); Secretary, Elias Okeson (Cloverdale); Youth Treasurer, Isabelle Lindquist (Busy Bees); Adult Treasurers, Kim Christensen (Height of Land 69’ers), Karla Lindquist (Busy Bees), and Mickey Okeson (Cloverdale); Executive Co-Vice Presidents Karla Lindquist (Busy Bees); Katie Okeson (Cloverdale). 

Special awards were presented to clubs, officers, and individual members. Historian awards for the club scrapbook were presented to Katelyn Kleven (Franklin), Whitney Mikkelsen (Franklin), and Zeb Lewis (River Valley). Secretary awards for the best maintained secretary’s book were presented to Kellen Ashmore (Cloverdale), Taylor Schauer (Franklin), Evelyn Lage (Wild Things). Treasurer awards for the best maintained treasurer’s book were presented to Elias Okeson (Cloverdale), Erin Schauer (Franklin). 

Scholarships in memory of Iver Warling were presented to Trent Bjerke (Franklin), Ashley Fletcher (Independent).

The Youth Leadership Award presented by MN Red River Valley Development Association.  This award was initiated to recognize a young person who has demonstrated outstanding ability in citizenship, leadership, character building through their involvement in community youth organization. The award recipient this year is Katelyn Kleven (Franklin).